Could’ve had a V8

After getting into another spat (it seems like a regular occurrence these days), I have come to the realization that it’s probably time to move off-campus.  I’d like to say we cannot afford it, and I may be right.  However, I said the same thing about my daughter two and a half years ago.  Somehow we’ve made it this far on what little money we have, even after stopping WIC (I’m not sure why or even how that happened.).  Tonight was a turning point for me as I didn’t see my wife or daughter for the entire afternoon and evening.  After lunch, my next stop to the apartment was after 10:45 PM, except for a quick stop for chicken tacos (yummy).  It’s time for us to work together more effectively.  It’s unfortunately, but necessary that I walk down a couple of hallways to do our laundry.  It’s unfortunate, but necessary that we have very little cabinet or counter space.  I’m not as disappointed as my wife about not having a dishwasher because I’m the dishwasher.  Although, with our little ant problem I’ve learned that it’s really important to not leave dirty dishes overnight.

Tonight, although I was beat down from my long day I realized that the dishes still needed to be done, and my wife’s work uniform needed to be washed.  So instead of going to bed and waking up early, I’m frustrated by a desire to stay up late and wake up lat(er).  I don’t feel too bad as it’ll be about the same amount of sleep for me.  More disappointed with me be my wife who doesn’t like sleeping alone.  Of course most of the washing machines and dryers are being used, which will force me to stay up a little later.  Oh well, that’s what these blogs are for.  MSNBC is on in the background and my iPod touch alarm just went off signifying two washing machines should be done with their cycle.

For those of you reading this at St. Olaf, I can’t say that I’ll be officially gone immediately, but for my sanity, for my family’s sanity, I’ll be looking for off-campus positions.

For your reading pleasure, I just saw this story about Sarah Palin: http://bit.ly/7XR30

Leave a comment